About

Taiwan CAR Lab is the first domestic self-driving vehicle testing and display site that encompasses development of both the whole vehicle and automobile components. Its 1.75-hectare intelligent driving laboratory was designed to simulate road conditions in Taiwan when driving at relatively slow speeds of 0 – 30 km/h. It provides a closed space to drive, display, and demonstrate operation of vehicles up to the size of a medium-sized bus. Besides offering domestic and foreign industrial and research organizations opportunities to use the space, Taiwan CAR Lab is working on an integrated interpretation system, expanded virtual platform content, and a basic function ranking system for self-driving vehicle testing. In addition, Taiwan CAR Lab conducted initial establishment of internet of vehicles ICT and an automotive information security testing system and techniques. By accelerating self-driving vehicle R&D, Taiwan CAR Lab is bringing applications closer to market and sparking development of related industries in Taiwan.

When supporting development of self-driving technology by industrial and academic organizations, Taiwan CAR Lab integrates mixed automobile and scooter traffic, specific types of traffic accidents, and other local characteristics. It strengthens virtual simulation banks, image identification banks, and intelligent driving testing databases. These data all link to the dynamic testing situations used by the intelligent driving testing site, in order to strengthen provision of verification and proof of self-driving and internet of vehicles functions in the virtual simulation laboratory (IV & V). The Taiwan CAR Lab test site provides comprehensive, stage-by-stage support to domestic self-driving and internet of vehicles R&D agencies as well as automobile component, automotive electronics, and ICT industries in their efforts to advance self-driving and internet of vehicles smart applications from germination to general use.

Virtual
simulationbanks
Image identification
banks
Intelligent drivingtesting
site

Start the Engine of the Self-Driving Vehicle Industry: 18 Manufacturers Jointly Launch the Autonomous Vehicle Industry Alliance

The Department of Industrial Technology, Ministry of Economic Affairs uses a combination of technical R&D and legal adjustments to promote unmanned vehicles. It formulated the world’s first unmanned transport testing act to cover land, water, and aerial vehicles. The department also brought together the semiconductor, information and communications technology (ICT), automotive electronics, and automobile industries to join in building a platform for interaction and collaboration. The joint initiative accelerates development of the self-driving vehicle industry and helps companies to expand global markets.

Testing Sites and Planning

Self-driving research teams conducting on-road tests can be seen at Danhai New Town in New Taipei City, the bus lane on Xinyi Rd. in Taipei, the Cingpu area of Taoyuan, the Nanliao area of Hsinchu, Changhua Coastal Park, the Southern Taiwan Science Park in Tainan, and the Smart Green Energy Science City in Tainan. They accepted the challenge of having self-driving vehicles navigate real Taiwan road and traffic conditions.

Taiwan CAR Lab, meanwhile, plans to cooperate with domestic operators to deploy a 5G testing environment to support domestic automobile component and electronics makers, and the ICT industrial chain, in their efforts to align with international standards.

Operational Team

National Applied Research Laboratories

The National Applied Research Laboratories (NARLabs) oversees eight national-level experimental and research centers. Gathering and coordinating the centers under the administration of NARLabs improves both flexibility and efficiency while advancing the vertical integration of the nation’s technological development system. Integrating core technology and facilities of each research center enables NARLabs to provide domestic industrial, government, academic, and research sectors with a needed platform and technology for key areas, including earth and environment, ICT, biomedical technology, and science and technology.

Taiwan Semiconductor Research Institute

The Taiwan Semiconductor Research Institute (TSRI) is a consolidation of the National Chip Implementation Center (CIC) and National Nano Device Laboratories (NDL). Capitalizing on the strengths of the CIC and NDL in chip design and semiconductor fabrication, TSRI refines research and services provided by industrial, academic, and research sectors. In so doing, it offers a comprehensive range of verification services for semiconductor devices, circuits, and system integration while creating an open information and service platform for semiconductor manufacturing, packaging and testing, integrated circuit design, intellectual property core, and systems integration. With this platform, industrial, academic, and research teams share resources to accelerate technological development and verification while avoiding resource wastage. They become the engine catalyzing semiconductor research and a fountainhead for cultivating an integrated pool of high-caliber professionals.

National Center for High-Performance Computing

In order to effectively support Taiwan’s technology research, the National Center for High-Performance Computing (NCHC) built technology R&D platforms to help domestic and foreign R&D teams develop high-performance computing and big data applications that cover engineering and science, environmental and disaster prevention, biomedicine, and digital cultural content creation. NCHC has developed into a world class high-performance computing center.

Since 2017, NCHC has been committed to building cloud services and big data computation platforms under the Forward-Looking Infrastructure Development Program. It built national-level AI R&D infrastructure to promote development of domestic emerging technology and industries, laying the foundation for a new generation of critical technologies.

Cooperative Partners

關於智駕實驗室

臺灣智駕測試實驗室為國內首座針對自駕車整車與零組件系統開發的測試與展示場域,智駕實驗室面積約1.75公頃,設計上以呈現國內道路情境約30km/h以下低速行駛,提供中型巴士以下之自駕車於此封閉場地中進行實駕、展示及示範運行等用途,除持續提供國內外產學研單位進場測試服務外,亦將完成智駕實驗室全場域整合型判釋系統、擴充虛擬平台內容、建立自駕車測試基本能力排名制度,初步建置車聯網資通訊與車輛資安之測試系統與技術等。讓自駕車的研發成果能更快落實應用,更期待激發我國相關產業發展動能。

目前配合產學研單位開發自駕技術時所需之研發能量,導入臺灣汽機車混流、交通事故樣態等臺灣在地特性,持續強化虛擬模擬題庫、影像辨識資料庫、智駕測試資料庫等研發服務平台。相關資料均將鏈結智駕實驗室實測場域動態測試情境,加強自駕車/車聯網在虛擬模擬實驗室之驗證與實證(IV&V)的推展工作。協助國內自駕車/車聯網研發單位、車用零組件/車用電子/ICT產業,將自駕車及車聯網相關智慧應用從萌芽狀態到落地應用的完整流程規劃,協助各研發團隊之技術開發進程。

自駕車虛擬模擬平台
資料彙整應用平台
交通情境之
實測場域

啟動自駕車產業引擎,18家廠商共組「自駕車產業聯盟」

經濟部從技術研發、法規調適,推動無人載具產業,創造全球首發跨陸海空無人運具實驗運行先例,並將半導體、資通訊、汽車電子與車輛產業集結在一起,建立互動合作的平台,促進自駕車產業更加蓬勃發展,協助業者拓展全球市場。

實測場域及規劃

目前在新北淡海新市鎮、台北信義路公車專用道、桃園青埔、新竹南寮、彰濱工業區、台南南科園區與綠能城等地點,均可看到各個自駕車研發團隊正進行自駕車實際上路運行測試,挑戰臺灣實際道路情境與駕駛人行為。

臺灣智駕測試實驗室規劃將與國內業者合作布建5G測試環境,協助國內車用零組件、車用電子、ICT產業鏈接軌國際。

合作場域

臺南沙崙智慧綠能科學城示範場域設置於高鐵臺南站旁大型公共建設,並將以資安科技、智慧交通、智慧健康與智慧生活為發展主軸,未來一期大樓一樓空間會整合「臺灣智駕測試實驗室」智慧運輸模擬平台與實境測試、自駕車整備與展示空間、汽車零組件展示與交流空間等,提供產學研單位、車輛零組件/車用電子產業於自駕技術研發、產品測試時使用。

影片來源:財團法人國家實驗研究院

營運團隊

財團法人國家實驗研究院

臺灣智駕測試實驗室為國內首座針對自駕車整車與零組件系統開發的測試與展示場域,設計上以呈現國內道路情境約30km/h以下低速行駛,提供中型巴士以下之自駕車於此封閉場地中進行實駕、展示及示範運行等用途,除提供相關產業與學研單位研發自駕車技術時不可獲缺的實際驗證場域,讓自駕車的研發成果能更快落實應用,更期待激發我國相關產業發展動能。

台灣半導體研究中心

台灣半導體研究中心以CIC與NDL兩單位過去已建立的晶片設計與半導體製造強項為基礎,持續精進各項產學研界的研究服務工作,提供從元件、電路到系統整合的一條龍半導體驗證服務,建立半導體製造、封裝測試、IC設計、矽智財、系統整合等開放性資訊與服務平台,讓國內產學研團隊共用這些資源,縮短技術開發與驗證時間。

國家高速網路與計算中心

為有效支援台灣科技研究,國網中心建構科技研發平台,支援國內外研發團隊高速計算與大資料庫發展工作,範圍涵蓋工程與科學、環境與災防、生物醫學及數位文創等應用領域,打造成為一流的國際級高速計算中心。2017年起國網中心承接「前瞻基礎建設之建構雲端服務及大數據運算平台計畫」,建構國家級AI人工智慧研發基礎設施,以促進國內新興科技與產業發展,落實新世代關鍵技術紮根。

合作夥伴