Road Tests, Systems, and Training

Designed 15 road test items that simulate driving conditions on Taiwan’s roads to evaluate the environmental response capabilities of self-driving vehicles.

Intersection & Crossroad

Testing the traffic signs and signal detection capability, travel path planning application, and road marking recognition capability of autonomous vehicles.

Movable Street Scenes and Street Furnitures

Testing the shadow of city buildings, street blocks, and the light of street signs on the sensor system (image-sensor) of autonomous vehicles.

Intelligent Bus Shelters

Testing the travel path planning and bus stops of autonomous vehicles.

Roadside Parking lots /spaces

Testing the curb parallel parking, angle parking and reverse parking capability.

Round-about

Testing the roundabout lane recognition, intersection vehicle mergence and travel path planning of autonomous vehicles.

Narrowing driving lanes

Testing the traffic signal/marking detection, and travel path planning capability of autonomous vehicles.

Road curves

Testing the traffic marking detection of autonomous vehicles, lane keeping, following, and travel path planning capability.

Level crossings

Testing the traffic signal detection capability of autonomous vehicles.

T-junction

Testing the traffic sight and signals capability, the application of smart safety system for travel path planning (i.e. V2X), and road marking recognition capability of autonomous vehicles.

Concrete road surface/bridge seams

Testing the environment and traffic detection of autonomous vehicle and the misjudgment of image-based land detection system.

Tunnels

Testing the influence of GPS signal shading, lighting changes and shading conditions on the sensor system.

Tree canopy

Testing the influence of GPS signal and scenarios of lighting changes on the sensor (image) system of autonomous vehicles.

Metal-bridge road surface

Testing the influence of metal bridge on the sensor system of autonomous vehicles.

Extreme Weather

Testing the influence on the sensor system (image) of autonomous vehicles under fog/light rain/heavy rain and other weather.

Back-Lighting

Testing the influence on the sensor system (image) of autonomous vehicles under day/night/front/back light and other lighting changes.

Static Soft Global Vehicle Target

The static soft Global Vehicle Target (GVT) is a 2018 Euro NCAP-approved, 3D soft-foam target for autonomous emergency braking (AEB) testing. The GVT has a soft outer shell that resembles a small passenger vehicle and is built on a soft foam frame. To the sensors of a self-driving vehicle, it appears to be a normal car, as shown in the photo.

The outer shell is fastened to the soft frame. When a self-driving vehicle is moving in a closed space, the GEV can act as a vehicle parked to the front or side. When a collision occurs, the shell of the GEV breaks apart to avoid damage to the test car. The GEV can then be recovered and reassembled for reuse.

Pedestrian & Bicyclist Dummies

The pedestrian dummy and bicyclist dummy with dynamic control systems are good targets for detection by self-driving vehicles. When a collision occurs, the dummy separates from its belt-drive platform to avoid damage to the test car. The dummy can then be recovered and reassembled for reuse.

The pedestrian can carry out animated human leg movements to appear like a person in stride while the bicyclist has rotating wheels to mimic bicycle movements. They can be fully detected by self-driving vehicle systems. Both devices are 2018 Euro NCAP-approved pedestrian targets for Autonomous Emergency Braking – Vulnerable Road Users (AEB VRU) system testing and verification.

Pedestrian Belt-Drive System

The pedestrian dummy and bicyclist dummy are placed on a belt-drive sled that enables them to cross the road in front of a self-driving vehicle. In a collision, the dummy separates from the sled, and the vehicle can run over the sled without causing any damage. The dummy can then be quickly reassembled and reused. The control system includes the following:

1. Controller: Contains a pull motor, a power source supply unit, and a pull module.

2. Sled: Connect the pedestrian dummy or bicyclist dummy to the sled. Movement is carried out by the belt-drive and controller. In a collision, the dummy separates from the sled.

3. Situational Software: Speed is controlled based on situational needs.

Video VBOX Pro

Video VBOX Pro is installed in the test vehicle to provide track location, loop time, speed, acceleration and other information, such as GPS data, UTC time, CAN data or synchronized video. It is equipped with up to four waterproof cameras. During testing, the graphical overlay is produced in real time and embedded within the footage while critical measurements and video are recorded and saved onto a memory card.

VBOX HD2 HDMI

VBOX HD2 HDMI uses two 1080p wide angle camera lenses that shoot 60 fps (or 30 fps for HDMI output). Data are recorded and saved on an SD card. An embedded picture in picture feature shows the film content on an external display during the recording. Like VBOX Pro, when installed in a test vehicle the VBOX HD2 HDMI records GPS data, UTC time, CAN data or synchronized video. The graphical overlay is produced in real time and embedded within the footage while critical measurements and video are recorded and saved onto a memory card.

LiveU Solo HDMI

LiveU Solo HDMI is wireless video encoder that can send VBOX HD2 video to YouTube.

High-precision GPS

The control system uses GPS data to analyze when to trigger motion of the pedestrian dummy and bicyclist dummy. When a self-driving vehicle is moving within the closed facility, GPS is also used to measure data of the vehicle as well as the pedestrian and bicyclist targets (location, vehicle speed, braking deceleration). The system includes the following:

1. Satellite positioning station. The signal range could cover all of the Tainan Shalun closed self-driving vehicle testing facility.

2. Real-time kinematic satellite positioning equipment and gyroscopes provide the location, speed, acceleration, yaw angle speed, and other data of the self-driving vehicle. The data can be recorded in real-time.

3. Wireless communication data broadcast equipment supports differential correction for the (1) satellite positioning station and the (2) real-time kinematic satellite positioning equipment, which enables high-precision GPS measurements.

4. The test vehicle positioning communications system includes a data acquisition processor and a real-time computing unit which articulate the relative positions, distance, and speeds of the self-driving vehicle and the target object. These data are recorded in the data acquisition processor. Wi-Fi-based wireless modules support communications between the self-driving vehicle and the target object.

Electric Control Platform Vehicles

Available for use by academic research organizations conducting self-driving technology R&D or domestic manufacturers of automobile components/electronics. Also used to support initial product development or functional performance verification.

Taiwan CAR Lab provides different levels of service to clients based on their testing or R&D needs. Service planning is as follows:

Level 1: Basic testing or performance comparisons of simple external components. Taiwan CAR Lab fulfills the testing and verification tasks.

Level 2: In-depth testing techniques and products integral to vehicle control, with the opening of some chassis control privileges for electric control platform vehicles. For joint R&D by Taiwan CAR Lab and the testing client, the testing equipment interface is integrated with the control system to enhance overall testing and verification.

路測、系統、訓練

為模擬國內道路之行駛情境,設計15項路況實測,並且搭配號誌、輔助設備等,可進行68項交通狀況情境之測試,評估自駕車的環境應變能力。

十字路口、行人穿越道

測試自駕車之交通號誌與標誌偵測能力、行駛路徑規劃應用、道路標線識別能力。

移動街廓與立體招牌

測試市區建築物、街廓影像與招牌燈光對自駕車感測系統(影像感測)的影響。

智慧候車亭

測試自駕車之行駛路徑規劃、公車上下車的停靠站區。

路外停車場

測試路邊平行停車、斜角停車格及倒車入庫能力。

圓環

測試自駕車之圓環車道識別、路口車輛匯流及行駛路徑規劃。

車道縮減

測試自駕車之交通標誌/標線偵測、行駛路徑規劃能力。

彎道

測試自駕車交通標線偵測、車道維持、跟隨、行駛路徑規劃能力。

鐵路平交道

測試自駕車之交通號誌偵測能力。

T字路口

測試自駕車之交通號誌與標誌偵測能力、行駛路徑規劃智慧安全系統(如V2X)應用、道路標線識別能力。

水泥路面、橋梁接縫

測試自駕車之環境路況偵測能力,影像式車道線偵測系統之誤判。

隧道

測試GPS訊號遮蔽與光線變化情境以及遮蔽情境對感測系統影響。

樹蔭

測試自駕車GPS訊號與光線變化情境對感測系統(影像式)影響。

金屬鐵橋路面

測試金屬鐵橋對自駕車感測系統影響(反射雷達波造成系統誤判之可能性)。

天候

測試自駕車對於霧/小雨/暴雨等天候環境,對感測系統(影像式)影響。

光影

測試自駕車對於白天/黑夜/順光/逆光等光影變化,對感測系統(影像式)影響。

靜止軟式目標車

作為自駕車偵測之目標物,該靜止軟式目標車為符合新版2018 Euro NCAP(歐洲新車評鑑系統)自動緊急煞車系統(AEB)評價用之3D軟式目標車(Global Vehicle Target),包含泡棉骨架、小客車擬真外罩及固定座1 組,具備實車反射特性可供車輛感測系統偵測,具有固定式底座平板

小客車外罩與泡棉骨架可安裝於固定座,作為靜止之偵測目標。自駕車於封閉式場地運行時可能面臨前方停滯車輛或周邊停滯車輛等情境,以此靜止軟式目標車做為目標物予自駕車進行偵測。當自駕車與靜止軟式目標車發生碰撞時,靜止軟式目標車之擬真外觀可潰縮,避免對測試車輛外觀上之損傷,並可復原、再次組裝使用。

行人人偶及自行車騎士人偶

利用行人人偶及自行車騎士人偶搭配相關控制系統,可進行行人、自行車騎士作為自駕車偵測目標之展示。當碰撞發生時,人偶經自駕車撞擊後將與牽引系統脫離,不會對測試車輛造成損壞,人偶可簡易復原後再次組裝使用

行人人偶具備腳步擺動關節,可呈現行人移動時之跨步動作。自行車騎士人偶移動時輪胎可轉動,展示自行車移動行為。行人人偶與自行車騎士人偶具備真人與自行車之反射特性,可供自駕車輛系統進行偵測。符合新版2018 Euro NCAP(歐洲新車評鑑系統) 自動緊急煞車-行人防撞系統(AEB VRU system)評價程序。

人偶之控制牽引系統

行人人偶及自行車騎士人偶須以此控制系統進行牽引,以呈現行人或自行車橫越自駕車之車道。當自駕車與行人人偶或自行車騎士人偶碰撞後可自控制系統脫離,自駕車可輾過其部分控制系統,而不會對兩者造成傷害,控制系統經碰撞後可快速組裝並再次進行情境展現。該控制系統包含

1.控制站:具備動力牽引馬達、電源供應單元、牽引模組

2.牽引平板:用於與行人人偶及自行車騎士人偶連接,利用牽引帶與控制站之牽引模組連接,於碰撞後可與控制站之牽引模組及人偶脫離。

3.情境設定軟體:可針對情境需求進行牽引速度控制。

Video VBOX Pro

Video VBOX Pro安裝於測試車輛上,可提供軌道位置、單圈計時、速度、加速度…等參數,記錄GPS、UTC時間、CAN數據及同步視訊等參數。最多安裝四個防水攝影機,測試過程中影像與圖形疊加可由OLED即時觀看攝影內容、關鍵量測參數並將影像、資料記錄存於記憶卡。

VBOX HD2 HDMI

VBOX HD2 HDMI是由2個1080p廣角鏡頭攝影鏡頭組成,以每秒60fps(如果使用HDMI輸出,則為30 fps)將影像錄製儲存到SD卡,嵌入式畫中畫可於外接顯示器上即時觀看攝影內容。與VBOX Pro一樣,安裝於測試車輛上可紀錄GPS、UTC時間、CAN數據、同步視訊,圖形疊加可由顯示器即時觀看攝影內容、關鍵量測參數並將影像、資料記錄存於記憶卡。

LiveU Solo HDMI

LiveU Solo HDMI是一種無線視頻編碼器,可將VBOX HD2 視頻發送到YouTube平台。

高精度衛星定位系統

可作為上述之行人人偶及自行車騎士人偶控制系統之計算資訊與驅動人偶目標之觸發訊號,亦可記錄自駕車於封閉場域運行時,遭遇目標車、行人人偶與自行車騎士人偶等偵測目標時之動態資料(位置、車速資訊、煞車減速度…等),該系統包含:

1. 衛星定位基地站,通訊範圍可涵蓋整個台南沙崙封閉式自駕車試驗場域;

2. 即時動態衛星定位設備與陀螺儀,可提供自駕車位置、速度、加速度、橫擺角速度等資訊,並具有即時數據紀錄功能;

3. 具備無線通訊數據廣播裝置,可讓①衛星定位基地站與②即時動態衛星定位設備進行差分修正,以利高精度位置量測。

4. 測試車定位通訊系統,包含資料擷取主機與即時計算單元用於回饋自駕車與目標物之相對位置,相對距離,及相對速度等資訊並記錄於擷取主機內,亦包含Wifi無線通訊模組以提供自駕車與目標之間進行通訊。

電控平台車

提供學研單位於自駕技術研發時落實應用,同時亦可協助國內車輛零組件/車用電子廠商,與產品開發初期或功能性能驗證時使用。

臺灣智駕測試實驗室可針對客戶測試或研發需求,提供不同等級服務。服務規劃簡述如下:

LEVEL 1:單純外掛零組件,進行基本測試或性能比較,由臺灣智駕測試實驗室團隊進行測  試驗證任務。

LEVEL 2:深化測試技術及產品對車輛整體控制之融合程度,開放部分電控平台車底盤操控權限,由臺灣智駕測試實驗室團隊與測試客戶共同研發,將測試設備介接整合至操控系統,提高測試驗證完整度。